About us


The DAISSy group was founded in 2001 by highly skilled and motivated researchers pursuing research, innovation and adoption of the broader Ambient Intelligence vision. Currently the group consists of two branches, both based in Patras, Greece:

  1. Research Unit 3 of Computer Technology Institute (CTI) focuses on the design and development of pervasive and mobile systems, which are seamlessly integrated into the environment of human activity and exhibit properties of smart, adaptive, autonomous systems, and
  2. The research group at Hellenic Open University (HOU) conducts basic research, supports education in pervasive and mobile systems and pursues the development and adoption of social applications.


The DAISSy group has accumulated longtime R&I expertise in Ambient Intelligence, Pervasive Systems, Middleware, Service Oriented Architectures, Ontologies, Knowledge Extraction and Representation, Multi Agent Systems, Social Systems, Peer Learning Platforms, 3D Games, ICT in Education and Skills Definition and Profiling for ICT related Jobs.

Since its establishment, the DAISSy group has participated in more than 60 national and European projects, in various frameworks (i.e. FP5, FP6, FP7, Lifelong Learning, Erasmus+, etc.), amassing a total funding of more than 2,5 MEuro. Today the group employs more than 15 persons, including University professors, PhD and MSc holders, researchers in computer science, artificial intelligence and social sciences, experienced ICT engineers, programmers and administrative personnel.

DAISSy Personnel

Group Leader

Achilles Kameas

Scientific Personnel

Ioannis Zaharakis

Christos Goumopoulos

Sissy Theodosiou

Vassilis Vassiliadis

Theodore Panagiotakopoulos

Maria Aspioti

Maria Zafeiropoulou

Ifigeneia Sotiropoulou

Panayiota Polymeropoulou

Nikos Achilleopoulos

Administration of National and European Projects

Senior Manager of National and European Projects

Konstantina Polymeropoulou 

Manager of National Projects

Ioanna Marini

Assistant Manager of European Projects

Aggeliki Kanellopoulou

Senior Administrator of European and National Projects

Charoula Seremetidi

Technical Team

Ioannis Kalemis

Ioannis Messalas

Andreas Panagiotopoulos